Mummy, you were wrong

T2 came into the room while I was busy researching a new recipe for NuYou magazine. They wanted to know if I could come up with a dessert or cake for their 20 years anniversary issue.

Never mind mommy is trying to do important things in the cake world. T2 says:

“Mummy, you were wrong about something.”
“What was I wrong about?”
“You were wrong about the chocolate egg.”

T2 had wanted to buy the Kinder Joy egg on Saturday. Me, the cheapskate mommy looked at the price RM3.10 for a hollow egg (yea, I shook it). I told him I wasn’t going to pay RM3.10 for a tiny piece of chocolate inside. Our brownies with Madagascar chocolate only sells for RM3.50 at my shop. *shameless self promotion* Really. Artisan stuff. So you can understand why I wasn’t going to pay RM3+ for a bit of chocolate in a plastic egg.

“There are two pieces of chocolate which you scoop out with a plastic spoon. And there’s a toy inside the egg. So you also get other things inside the egg for your money. Preston my friend told me so”.

T2 pouted and looked like he was ready to give out some tears. Preston is T2’s best friend in kindergarten. I’m glad they’re discussing important things in kindergarten, like chocolates.

“Really? I didn’t know that. What else did you talk about with Preston?”
“I’m not telling you anymore, it’s a waste of my time talking to you” and scooted off, with his Hero Factory toy in hand.

What?! Why are my kids so sassy with me, ah? We weren’t allowed to talk like that when we were kids! My dad, the strict disciplinarian would have just sent us flying across the room, and make us stand the night in the corner with cili padi stuffed in our mouths if we so much as snorted. Even now, when I talk to my dad, I would never tell him he was wrong, memories of stinging cili padi still runs deep.

Respect. I tell you, that’s what’s missing from the kids these days.

20130715-200038.jpg photo credit – eurochocos